On Journaling and the Age Old Excuse, “What If I Do it Wrong?”

I am honestly a journaling freak. Even mention the word and I just get really excited. I tell my close friends all the time they need to journal. “Just do it. DO IT.” Is usually how that conversation starts but I always, always get the same reply.

“What if I do it…. Wrong”

YOU CANNOT DO IT WRONG. Ah. This irritates me. There is no way to do it wrong or right. A journal is your safe haven to do whatever. Paint it in, color in it, doodle in it, do whatever you want to do in it. A book will not judge you. In my journals, I stick in some the dumbest things. But they have memories attached to them. For example: I kept everything that I got on my family trip to Disney. Maps, wrappers, everything. But you know what? It helps me remember my trip better. I did the same thing on my school trip to Washington Dc. If you’re a visual person like me, it’ll help you remember something.

So, let’s say you get a notebook. It is absolutely perfect. The size is just right, the lines aren’t too big or too small or maybe they don’t even exist. But the blank page is just so intimidating. Stop it. The paper won’t judge you. You don’t need to make a first impression. But, if you want, just write about yourself. Where you live, what grade you’re in/what job you have, post a picture of what you look like, your hobbies, favorite movies and things. Just tell who you are in the beginning. Or, you could just jump in and talk about your day. I always take the jumping in route. It’s just easier for me.

Now, the age old question of how much do you write. You write however much you want. You write when you want. There are no rules as to how to write. You could write upside down or right to left. You could not write at all and just put in pictures that describe your emotions and where you are in your life and such. Honestly, like I said, a page will not judge you! Do whatever you want with it. No one will come at you if you don’t write every day.

That’s all for today guys! Do you guys keep a journal? Do you want too? Why do you or why don’t you? Comment down below! I love hearing from you guys. And don’t forget to follow me on twitter @/zoereadsiguess. Thanks for reading!

-Zoe xo

2 thoughts on “On Journaling and the Age Old Excuse, “What If I Do it Wrong?”

  1. I don’t journal. Maybe it’s because I’m a writer and writing stories keep me busy. Maybe it’s because the tales I write, even though fictional, hold some significance to my life. To be honest I always wanted to keep a journal. But I prefer to weave my experiences into books, twisting them until they fit into another place and time.

    Like

Leave a comment